VISUAL BRANDING BASICS FOR INDIE MUSICIANS

Posted: August 20, 2013 in Artist Corner
Tags: , ,

Like creating music, creating a visual brand is subjective, highly dependent on personal aesthetics and goals. Blogger Solveig Whittle gets down and dirty discussing the visual branding basics that indie musicians need to take into account when setting out to market themselves in consistent and creative way.

From the Shades of Solveig blog:

I am in the process of creating a new visual brand for my music. I am not including links just yet, because it’s not quite done. Read on as to why.

This new “band brand” is for my duo, Solveig & Stevie, and it’s separate from my blogging and marketing online brand (Solveig Whittle). It hasn’t been a particularly fast or easy process. I’m certain much of this is due to my personal combination of obsessive perfectionism and lack of graphic arts skills. However, I suspect, fellow musicians, that I am not alone.

Perhaps you can relate: I’ve tried seven different WordPress themes for my band website. I have agonized over which band pictures to use. I created a band logo myself, after trying crowd sourcing one with two different websites. I started with one album cover, and then changed it.

Because this has been a difficult process for me, I thought perhaps it would be useful to share some of what I learned during this process and some of the online resources I used.Click on the link below to get all the information…

Author: Solveig Whittle, Shades of Solveig

Leave a Reply

